Skip to content

About Us

In 1909, the first Chamber of Commerce was established in Jackson, but it became inactive by 1937. However, in May 1957, J. T. Beckham and Vincent Jones reorganized the Butts County Chamber of Commerce with 123 charter members from the Downtown Merchants Association. The initial officers included Vincent Jones as president, J. T. Beckham as vice-president, Elizabeth McMichael as secretary, and Candler Webb as treasurer. The Butts County Chamber of Commerce officially registered with the Georgia Secretary of State's Corporations Division on June 7, 1957 (History of Butts County Georgia, 1825-1976, Revised Edition, 2012).

In January 2021, the Butts County Chamber of Commerce relocated to the Historic Butts County Courthouse, which now serves as a Welcome Center for Butts County. Alongside the Chamber, the courthouse houses the Jackson-Butts County Council for Arts, Butts County Historical Society, and the Butts County Development Authority.

Board of Directors

About Natalie Jones

Natalie Jones — President

Jones Petroleum

Amanda Rivers

Amanda Rivers — Past President

Rivers Ranch

LaTara Miller headshot

LaTara Miller — Vice President

Central Georgia EMC

Kristie Head-Stodghill Headshot

Kristie Head-Stodghill — Secretary

WellStar Sylvan Grove Hospital

Rae Johnston

Rae Johnston — Treasurer

Haisten & Johnston

Chewy Adams

Derrick "Chewy" Adams

Butts County Fire Department

placeholder image

Amy Washington

AWI Trucking

Brad Johnson headshot

Brad Johnson

Butts County Administration

Carlos Duffey

Carlos Duffey

City of Jackson Mayor

About Matt Garrison

Matt Garrison

Butts County Sheriff's Department

Kaleb Holton

Kaleb Holton

United Bank

About Melissa Harris

Melissa Harris

Ameris Bank

About Jennifer Vasil

Jennifer Vasil

Westbury Medical Care & Rehab

Sister Ward headshot

Sister Ward

Georgia Power

Joy Wedemeier Headshot

Joy Wedemeier

City of Jackson

Brent Lowe headshot

Brent Lowe

Butts County School Superintendent

Ike English Headshot

Ike English

Dauset Trails Nature Center

Brent Watts

Brent Watts

Butts County Schools

Jared Godin headshot

Jared Godin

Jackson Lake Homeowners Association

John Harkness Headshot

John Harkness

Butts County IDA

Kim Freshwater headshot

Kim Freshwater

Kim Freshwater, REALTOR

Meet the Current Staff

About Lisa Durden

Lisa Durden

Executive Director

Willie Norsworthy

Willie Norsworthy

Welcome Center Attendant

About Bridget Daniels

Bridget Daniel

Tourism Director

Anna Leigh Adams

Web & Graphic Designer

Our Mission

To promote business and act as a catalyst for economic and community development in Butts County.